To be a polygon

I’m Jack McPhillips.

English, of predominantly Celtic rather than Germanic heritage.

I was born on the 1st of August 1995, meaning i’m a Leo born in the year of the pig.

The Myers-Briggs personality test confirms that i’m an INFJ.

I’m a Hufflepuff and a Pukwudgie and would be a member of House Greyjoy in Game of Thrones.

Do you know me yet?

I’ve always had a fascination with personality quizzes, like so many other people. I think it’s perfectly natural.

People are always trying to know and define themselves, and quizzes and categories like the ones shown above – amongst countless others – are just more ways to do that.

Introspection is all well and good, but there’s something far more validating about external verification is it were.

As to why we love to know who we are via labels like these I can’t say. Perhaps it’s a way of knowing who we’re best off associating with and finding friends, perhaps it’s because it removes the factor of unknowing from the most intimate aspect of our existence – our own minds.

Regardless, personality quizzes are fun.

My favourite has to be Circumplex however.

This quiz asks you 24 questions and then shows you as you are – a 3D shape formed and driven by a set of criteria. Stripping a person down to something so simple is fascinating.

I can’t validate how accurate the quiz is in actually reflecting a person’s nature, but I will say that looking at my little polygon self is quite satisfying. It’s me, without the complexities and frustrations which come with an actual human existence. In a perfect world we’d all be as simple and happy as a little chunk of geometry.

Give Circumplex a try. Maybe you’ll see what I mean.

Just FYI, the quiz instinctively knew that I was a dick:

16736515_1321008347959834_297695106_n

Leave a Reply

